Hide the Description and Reviews Tabs in WooCommerce Products

WooCommerce products by default show  ‘description‘ and ‘reviews‘ tabs below the product on a WordPress product page, you can hide these tabs from view as well as a third tab ‘additional information‘ with a snippet of code that goes in your themes functions.php file

woo-description-tab-review

 

As well as remove the tabs you can rename the heading in the tabs with this snippet

You can also re-order the tabs with this snippet

If the tabs are not used on some products you may get a PHP error about undefined index on title or call back, in this case it is best to wrap the tabs in an isset function to check they are being used.

Here is a guide on adding extra tabs.

Ref

 

13 Comments

  1. Akash on June 22, 2021 at 10:44 am

    Nice Article. Thanks for sharing.

    Could u please advice here about deleting tabs. Do we require to define new function for deleting tab like

    add_filter( ‘woocommerce_product_tabs’, ‘woo_delete_tabs’, 98 );

    function woo_delete_tabs( $tabs ) {


    }

  2. 4termo.pl on November 3, 2020 at 11:07 am

    Nice. I need this solution for my website. Thanks!

  3. Devender on October 27, 2020 at 9:13 am

    Thankyu so Much Bro For This Code….

  4. pixup on September 2, 2020 at 8:57 pm

    That was very helpful. Thanks for that snippet. Regards.

  5. Tarek on February 26, 2019 at 10:11 am

    Description tab removed but review is not. I want to remove both tabs. But content of these tabs will show section by sention on same page without tabs. how?

  6. Tarek on February 26, 2019 at 9:58 am

    Description removed but review is not removed. tried the code several time but not fixed.

  7. RFS on January 22, 2019 at 3:58 am

    I can confirm that as of today (1/21/2019) with WP 5.03 cutting and pasting the above as follows:

    add_filter( ‘woocommerce_product_tabs’, ‘woo_remove_product_tabs’, 98 );

    function woo_remove_product_tabs( $tabs ) {

    unset( $tabs[‘description’] ); // Remove the description tab
    unset( $tabs[‘reviews’] ); // Remove the reviews tab
    unset( $tabs[‘additional_information’] ); // Remove the additional information tab

    return $tabs;

    }

    works just fine. I placed it as the very first lines of code and now I do not see the descriptions nor reviews tabs…because I am just launching and have zero feedback yet (positive or negative). I did learn you will have to re-do this everything Woo commerce is upgraded.

    Thank you very much to whoever left this code. Much appreciated.

  8. Morten Andersen on December 11, 2018 at 12:37 pm

    Hi
    If I want to remove the heading of the tab

    add_filter(‘woocommerce_product_description_heading’, ‘__return_empty_string’);

    add_filter(‘woocommerce_product_additional_information_heading’, ‘__return_empty_string’);

    is this working

    But I can’t remove the heading of “Reviews”
    Not working = add_filter(‘woocommerce_product_reviews_heading’, ‘__return_empty_string’);

    Any suggestions?

    :-)
    Morten

  9. Fred Sessoms on August 17, 2018 at 9:32 pm

    Perfect! Thanks for the code!

  10. Remco on December 14, 2017 at 11:44 pm

    I would like it exactly the other way around, diplay on desktop, hide on mobile / tablet portait. Any one?

    Best regards,

    Remco

  11. Fred on March 22, 2017 at 11:20 am

    I would like to hide product description for my store but show it to my mobile site! Is there a way?
    Thanks

    • ayo paul on June 1, 2019 at 9:02 am

      You can use css and target the desktop screen size e.g
      @media only screen and (min-width: 768px) { …}

Leave all Comment